top of page

Fiction featuring Care Experience

looked after.jpg

Winter Sonata

Dorothy Edwards


Winter Sonata is the 2nd book and only novel published by Welsh writer Dorothy Edwards (1902-1934).

A quiet, restrained novel, it tells the story of a young shy man, Arnold Nettle, who moves to a small English village to work in the post office.

Arnold soon becomes enamoured of Olivia Neran who lives with her younger sister Eleanor.

Both young women are living in kinship care—we’re not sure for how long—with an aunt and cousin, George Curle.

Slowly and with difficulty because of his acute shyness, Arnold Nettle becomes friends with the upper class Nerans and Curles.

bottom of page