top of page

Fiction featuring Care Experience

looked after.jpg

Three Blind Mice

Agatha Christie


Three Blind Mice and Other Stories is a collection of short stories written by Agatha Christie, first published in the US by Dodd, Mead and Company in 1950. Three Blind Mice took at its heart the true story of the horrific abuse of two young orphan boys, one of whom really was murdered by foster parents who were supposed to protect and look after them whilst World War Two was raging throughout Europe:

‘Terence O'Neill and his brother, Dennis, were taken to a foster home in 1945 on the Shropshire, England farm of Reginald and Esther Gough. The two suffered from beating and neglect, and later that year, Dennis died at the age of 12 from injuries he had sustained.'

bottom of page