top of page

Fiction featuring Care Experience

looked after.jpg

The Fall of Man in Wilmslow

David Lagercrantz


Swedish writer David Lagercrantz is the author of 3 novels in the Millennium series - The Girl in the Spider's Web, The Girl Who Takes an Eye for Eye and The Girl Who Lived Twice.

The Fall of Man in Wilmslow (2009) is an imagined account of a young Detective Constable Leonard Corell being tasked with investigating the death of Alan Turing on 7 June 1954.

Corell becomes fascinated and inspired by the life and character of Turing and uncovers his crucial work during WWII at Bletchley Park.

The novel explores the idea of being 'different' enabling the development of different ideas, attitudes towards gay men at the time, and the hypocrisy of the secret service being willing to use Turing until they confirm he is gay.

There is little on Alan Turing's extended time in foster care as an infant and small child and how that experience might have shaped the man.

bottom of page