top of page

Fiction featuring Care Experience

looked after.jpg

Fugitive Pieces (Novel)

Anne Michaels


Fugitive Pieces (1996) is an award winning novel by Canadian writer, Anne Michaels (b. 1958).

The novel is in 2 parts, the 1st centred on Jakob Beer, a 7 year old Jewish boy who survives the Holocaust by hiding in the forest and being taken in by an acheologist who gets the boy to safety in Greece.

The 2nd part of the novel is the story of Ben, a Canadian professor born to survivors of the Holocaust. Ben becomes fascinated by Jakob's story.

bottom of page