top of page

Fiction by Care Experienced authors

looked after.jpg

Brenton Brown

Alex Wheatle


Brenton Brown is a follow-up to Alex Wheatle’s famous debut Brixton Rock, which was set in the early 1980s. We catch up with the characters of that book about 25 years later in contemporary Britain, and those who read the first book will enjoy seeing how things turned out, especially with the title character Brenton, who fell in love with his half-sister Juliet. Things get a lot messier in this book, despite their best efforts to avoid it, as the child they had together is now grown-up and wants to know who her real father is (they never told her), and Juliet’s husband begins to suspect, and meanwhile Juliet is running for government and can’t have any scandal coming out in public.

bottom of page